By Gary Anderson

Trusted Choice has been announced as the presenting partner for next month's World Lacrosse Championships ©World Lacrosse 2014The Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) has announced that Trusted Choice has been appointed the official presenting partner of this year's World Lacrosse Championships taking place in Denver in the United States.

Trusted Choice is a consumer branding programme for independent insurance agents and brokers launched by the Independent Insurance Agents and Brokers of America (IIABA or the Big "I").

It already has partnerships in place with a number of sports in the United States, including baseball and golf.

"We are pleased and fortunate to have Trusted Choice as the presenting sponsor of the 2014 FIL World Lacrosse Championships," said Bill Schoonmaker, vice-president of strategy and business development for US Lacrosse.

"Their commitment to quality and independence is a fantastic fit for our event and we look forward to working with them and their national network of independent agents."

This will be the third time the Championships will have been hosted by the United States after Baltimore staged the 1982 and 1998 editions.

Dick's Sporting Goods Park in Commerce City, north of Denver will host the Championships from July 10 to 19 which will see 38 nations competing across 142 matches in the largest event to date.

England and the Netherlands will be two of the teams competing at next month's World Lacrosse Championships in Denver ©AFP/Getty ImagesEngland and The Netherlands will be two of the teams competing at next month's World Lacrosse Championships in Denver ©AFP/Getty Images

The competition has been divided into nine divisions with the world's top six teams Australia
Canada, England, Iroquois, Japan and the United States in the Blue Division.

China, Italy, The Netherlands and Norway make up the Green Division, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Poland and Turkey are in the Grey Division while the Orange Division contains Israel, South Korea, Slovakia and Sweden.

The Plum Division is made up of Argentina, New Zealand, Russia and Wales; Austria, Belgium, Germany and Hong Kong are in the Red Division with the Turquoise Division containing Colombia, Finland, Mexico and Spain.

Latvia, Scotland, Switzerland and Thailand form the White Division while Bermuda, France, Ireland and Uganda make up the Yellow Division.

The US are the reigning champions after defeating Canada in the 2010 final at the Armitage Centre in Fallowfield, Manchester.

Indeed, he North American rivals have won every World Championships to date since the inaugural event in 1967 with nine wins for the United States and two for Canada in 1978 and 2006.

In addition to the FIL World Championships, more than 150 teams have already registered for the boys' youth and men's elite/master's World Festivals, which will be held in conjunction with the World Championship at Dick's Sporting Goods Park next month.

The World Championships are due to return to Manchester for a third time in 2018.

Contact the writer of this story at [email protected]

Related Stories
July 2013: 
Manchester awarded 2018 World Lacrosse Championships
May 2013: Lacrosse, floorball and muaythai voted in as part of International World Games Association