Australia took all four golds at the ITTF Para-Table Tennis Championships ©Facebook/ITTFOceania

Hosts Australia achieved a clean sweep of gold medals at the International Table Tennis Federation (ITTF) Oceania Para-Table Tennis Championships, in Bendigo, with the event running alongside the able-bodied Oceania Cup.

Barak Mirzachi led the Australia gold rush, firstly topping his group in the men’s singles class 6 to 10, before seeing off teammates Jackson Meyn and Victor Kamozina in straight games, in the quarter and semi-finals.

Mirzachi faced another compatriot in the final and recovered but fell behind earlier on to Joel Coughlan but bounced back to win tie 5-11, 11-8, 11-5, 8-11, 16-13.

Mark Harris added a second gold to the Australian tally in the men’s singles class 3 to 5, by winning the round robin group ahead of New Zealand’s James Goulding and Shaktidevan Krishnan, who finished second and third.

The women’s events were also decided by a round robin format with Lisa Daniels di Toro claiming the women’s singles class 3 to 5 title ahead of Fiji’s Merewalesi, while her fellow Australian Melissa Tapper earned the 6 to 10 title ahead of teammate Andrea McDonnell.

Tapper was also given direct entry to the quarter-final phase of the able bodied Oceania Cup and will face New Caledonia’s Avelino Montero after she topped a round robin qualifying group on the opening day of the tournament.

Vanuatu’s Yoshua Shing is still in contention in the Oceania Cup after day one
Vanuatu’s Yoshua Shing is still in contention in the Oceania Cup after day one ©Getty Images

Tahti’s Melveen Richmond secured the second a final qualification spot by winning her group and is due to face Australia’s Sarah Tan, who alongside compatriot Jian Fang Lay and New Zealand’s Li Chunli were awarded direct routes to the last eight, while Fiji’s Sally Yee and Tahti’s Rachel Hsiao complete the line-up after advancing through last 16 matches.

The men’s competition saw Australia’s William Henzell, David Powell and Kane Townsend received byes to the last eight phase, alongside New Zealand’s Phillip Xiao.

Vanuatu’s star Yoshua Shing, New Caledonia’s Laurent Sens, Tahiti’s Tinihau Klouman and Gregoire Dossier advanced to the phase, securing their positions with excellent performances in the round robin qualifying.

The Oceania Cup is set to continue tomorrow. 

Related stories
April 2015: 
Vanuatuan table tennis star to compete at ITTF Oceania Cup despite problems caused by Cyclone Pam
April 2015: Athletes gear up for historic ITTF Oceania Para-Table Tennis Championships
October 2014: Oceania Cup to be first integrated event for able-bodied and Para-table tennis in ITTF history