Suzanne Schulting of The Netherlands has become European champion at the ISU European Short Track Championships in Dordrecht ©ISU

Suzanne Schulting of The Netherlands was named overall champion in front of a home crowd at the International Skating Union (ISU) Short Track Speed Skating European Championships in Dordrecht.

Schulting won the women's competition at the Sportboulevard, adding the title to her 1,000 metres Olympic gold medal from Pyeongchang 2018.

Her title came thanks largely to victories in the 3,000m and 1,500m events.

Sofia Prosvirnova came second overall following her victory today in the 1,000m, winning the race in 1min 29.045sec. 

France's Tifany Huot Marchand was behind her in 1:29.101 and Britain's Elise Christie completed the podium in 1:29.247.

Christie finished in third place overall on her return to action following the 2018 Pyeongchang Winter Olympics.  

Hungary's Shaolin Sandor Liu was named the men's European champion, ending his individual competition with a second place finish in the 1,000m with a time of 1:24.702.

He won the 1,500m event yesterday.

Semen Elistratov of Russia won that event in 1:24.624 and his compatriot Denis Ayrapetyan was third with 1:24.816.

Liu's brother, Shaoang Liu, came second overall, while Elistratov finished third. 

The final events of the competition were the women's 3,000m relay and the men's 5,000m relay, which both provided additional triumphs to the newly crowned overall European champions. 

The Netherlands' team consisting of Schulting, Rianne de Vries, Yara van Kerkhof and Lara van Ruijven won the 3,000m in 4:09.396, beating the Russian quartet of Ekaterina Efremenkova, Ekaterina Konstantinova, Emina Malagich and Prosvirnova who recorded a time of 4:10.446.

Hungary's Sara Luca Bacskai, Petra Jaszapati, Marta Knoch and Barbara Somogyi came third in 4:14.412.

The Liu brothers were pivotal in Hungary's victory in the 5,000m, alongside teammates Csaba Burjan, Cole Krueger and Isaac William, with the team finishing in 6:54.168.

Daan Breeuwsma, Jasper Brunsmann, Itzhak de Laat and Dennis Visser of The Netherlands were second with 6:54.249 and Russia's Denis Ayrapetyan, Elistratov, Alexander Shulginov and Pavel Sitnikov took third place with 6:59.609.

Today's action concluded the European Championships, with the ISU Short Track World Cup resuming in Dresden, Germany, from February 1 to 3.