The first edition of the ANOC World Beach Games took place in Qatar between October 12 and 16, 2019.

More than 1,200 athletes from 97 countries competed in exciting beach, water and action sports.

Fourteen disciplines in 13 sports were on the programme in all, and were all designed to appeal to a young audience.

They were aquathlon, basketball 3x3, bouldering, beach handball, karate kata, kitefoil racing, park skateboarding, beach soccer, open water swimming, beach tennis, beach volleyball, water skiing, wakeboard and beach wrestling.

Qatar hosted the 2019 ANOC World Beach Games ©ANOC
Qatar hosted the 2019 ANOC World Beach Games ©ANOC

Events took place at Katara Beach, the Gharafa Sports Complex and the Aspire Zone.

Spain topped the medal table with seven golds, one silver and two bronze.

ANOC's acting President Robin Mitchell and Secretary General Gunilla Lindberg signed the host city contract with the Qatar Olympic Committee in June 2019.

QOC President HE Sheikh Joaan Bin Hamad Al-Thani and QOC Secretary General HE Jassim Rashid Al-Buenain represented the local organisers.

Sheikh Joaan also chaired the Higher Organising Committee for the Games which included 20 members.

In July, representatives from more than 80 countries visited Qatar to inspect preparations.

They toured venues and received information on areas including security, anti-doping and ticketing.

Presentations on arrivals and departures, accommodation, transport, media, communications and ceremonies were also made.

ANOC World Beach Games 2019 Live Blog, Medals and Results Tables »

Following the recommendation of the President, the ANOC Gala Awards Dinner was created and held for the first time in Bangkok in 2014 during the ANOC General Assembly. After the first successful event, ANOC renamed the ceremony to the ANOC Awards.

The ANOC Awards give ANOC the chance to commend the achievements of NOCs, athletes and key members of the Olympic family and promote best practice. They also provide an opportunity for the NOCs to take part in an event in which they can celebrate their work and the work of their colleagues.

The 2015 ANOC Awards took place in Washington D.C on October 29 and celebrated the achievements of athletes from the five continental Games.

In 2016, the ANOC Awards were hosted by Doha, Qatar on November 15 and celebrated the achievements of NOCs and their athletes from the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.

The 2017 ANOC Awards took place in Prague, Czech Republic on November 2 and celebrated the best male and female sporting performance from each continent.

In 2018, the ANOC Awards were held on November 28 during the 23rd General Assembly in Tokyo, Japan. 

The focus of the awards was the Pyeongchang 2018 Winter Olympics.

The 2019 Awards were held alongside the first ANOC World Beach Games in Qatar in October, and recognised stars of the continental Games.

South Korea's capital Seoul will host the next ANOC Awards on October 26, 2021. The 2020 event, alongside the 2020 ANOC General Assembly, was cancelled due to the coronavirus pandemic. 

There are 12 Commissions and Working Groups which were confirmed in February 2019. They meet up to three times a year and place a strong emphasis on delivering tangible and measurable results for the benefit of ANOC's stakeholders.

The Commissions and Working Groups present their ongoing progress to the ANOC Executive Council before presenting their year's achievements at the ANOC General Assembly towards the end of each year.

The details of the 12 Commissions and Working Groups can be found below:

Finance and Audit
International Relations
Marketing and New Sources of Finance
Gender Equity
Culture and Education

The ANOC headquarters moved from Paris to the Olympic capital, Lausanne, in 2010. In June 2015, ANOC President Sheikh Ahmad Al-Fahad Al-Sabah, International Olympic Committee (IOC) counterpart Thomas Bach and IOC Honorary President Jacques Rogge officially opened the new headquarters in a re-designed traditional four-storey Swiss town-house. 

The headquarters showcase ANOC’s commitment to modernisation and provide the best possible environment from which to serve the NOCs. The office serves as ANOC’s global operational hub, as well as a base to welcome members of the world’s NOCs and other stakeholders of the Olympic Movement.

The new ANOC headquarters were opened in June 2015 ©Getty Images
The new ANOC headquarters were opened in June 2015 ©Getty Images