Daniel Dias will be aiming to defend six titles at the IPC Swimming World Championships ©Getty Images

Brazil’s most decorated Paralympic athlete of the last decade Daniel Dias headlines the country’s 23-strong team for this year’s International Paralympic Committee Swimming World Championships in Glasgow.

Dias, a 15-time medallist from across the Beijing 2008 and London 2012 Games, is the world record holder in nearly every event on the programme and the reigning world champion in six - the 50 metres backstroke, 200m medley, 50m freestyle, 100m freestyle, 200m freestyle and 4x50m relay 20pts. 

The 26-year-old is set to face a strong challenge at the competition, which takes place from July 13 to 19 at the Tollcross International Swimming Centre, from Great Britain’s Andrew Mullen, the four-time European champion, particularly in the 50m backstroke with just over one second separating the pair last year. 

Joining the men’s S5 swimmer is 12-time World Championships gold medallist André Brasil, who will be defending three individual men’s S10 titles - 100m freestyle, 100m butterfly and 50m freestyle - this summer.

His team mate and rival Phelipe Rodrigues, a silver and bronze medallist at the 2013 World Championships in Montreal, will fancy his chances having ranked as the number one 50m freestyle swimmer last year.

Edenia Garcia won silver in the women's 50m backstroke S4 event at the 2013 World Championships
Edenia Garcia won silver in the women's 50m backstroke S4 event at the 2013 World Championships ©Getty Images

Completing the men's team is Caio Amorim Muniz de Oliveira, Carlos Alonso Farrenberg, Clodoaldo Francisco da Silva, Fabiano Aparecido de Toledo, Italo Gomes Pereira, Matheus Rheine Corrêa de Sousa, Roberto Alcalde Rodriguez, Ronystony Cordeiro da Silva, Ruiter Antônio Gonçalves Silva, Talisson Henrique Glock, and Vanilton Antonio do Nascimento Filho.

Susana Ribeiro, a 2013 World Championships gold medallist in the 100m breaststroke SB6, is among the high profile names on the women's side, along with Edenia Garcia, silver medallist in the 50m backstroke S4, and Joanna Maria Silva, a triple bronze medallist in S5 events.

Esthefany de Oliveira Rodrigues, Rildene Fonseca Firmino, Paloma Garcia Sampaio, Raquel Viel, Regiane Nunes Silva, and Verônica Mauadie de Almeida round out the women’s team.

Tickets are now available here

Related stories
May 2015: IPC Swimming World Championships "absolutely crucial" in big year for Paralympic sport, IPC President says
April 2015: Pascoe set to head New Zealand challenge at IPC Swimming World Championships
April 2015: Quarter of Paralympians headline Australia team for IPC Swimming World Championships
April 2015: Long leads powerful US squad for IPC Swimming World Championships
March 2015: British Swimming announces squad for IPC Swimming World Championships