An Se-young helped South Korea overcome Japan in the semi-finals ©Getty Images

Defending champions China will face South Korea in the women’s Uber Cup final after both nations earned dominant semi-final wins at the marquee badminton team event in Bangkok.

China faced hosts Thailand in the semi-finals of the Badminton World Federation (BWF) competition.

Chen Yu Fei overcame Thailand’s former world champion Ratchanok Intanon 21-18, 21-12 in the opening singles match of the contest at the Impact Arena in Nonthaburi.

The Chinese team moved to the brink of victory when Chen Qing Chen and Jia Yi Fan came from a game down to beat Jongkolphan Kititharakul and Rawinda Prajongjai 17-21, 21-13, 21-15 in a doubles contest.

He Bing Jiao sealed China’s place in the final by beating Pornpawee Chochuwong 21-15, 21-15 to seal a 3-0 victory.

The record 15-time champions will meet South Korea in tomorrow’s final.

The opening singles match saw An Se-young face Japan’s Akane Yamaguchi with the players meeting for the eighth time in seven months, a run that has included three major finals.

An emerged as the winner of their latest match by a 15-21, 21-18, 21-18 scoreline to give South Korea an early advantage.

Lee So-hee and Shin Seung-chan earned a 21-16, 21-17 win over Japan’s Nami Matsuyama and Chiharu Shida in the doubles, before Kim Gae-un won 21-12, 11-21, 21-16 against Nozomi Okuhara.

China and South Korea will meet for the ninth time in the Uber Cup final, with the former winning seven of the ties.

South Korea’s victory came in 2010, which remains their only Uber Cup triumph.

India reached the men's Thomas Cup final for the first time ©Getty Images
India reached the men's Thomas Cup final for the first time ©Getty Images

Defending champions Indonesia will face India in the men’s Thomas Cup final, after both teams edged tightly contested semi-finals.

Anthony Sinisuka Ginting won the opening singles match of Indonesia’s semi-final against Japan, beating Kento Momota 21-13, 14-21, 21-12.

Indonesia moved to the brink of victory when Mohammed Ahsan and Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo won the first men’s doubles match 22-20, 8-21, 24-22 against Takuro Hoki and Yugo Kobayashi.

Japan fought back into the contest with Kenta Nishimoto winning 22-20, 21-13 against Jonatan Christie.

Akira Koga and Yuta Watanabe drew Japan level with a 21-14, 13-21, 21-18 win over Fajar Alfian and Muhammad Rian Ardianto.

Indonesia eventually booked their place in the final when Shesar Hiren Rhustavito won 21-17, 21-11 over Kodai Narakoa in the decisive third singles rubber.

The second semi-final saw Olympic champion Viktor Axelsen give Denmark an early advantage by winning 21-13, 21-13 against Lakshya Sen.

Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty drew India level with a 21-18, 21-23, 22-20 doubles win over Kim Astrup and Mathias Christiansen.

Srikanth Kidambi beat Anders Antonsen 21-18, 12-21, 21-15 to pull India ahead, before Anders Skaarup Rasmussen and Frederik Søgaard won 21-14, 21-14 against Krishna Prasad Garaga and Vishnuvardhan Goud Panjala to force a decider.

HS Prannoy held his nerve to win 13-21, 21-9, 21-12 against Rasmus Gemke to take India into the final for the first time.

India will hope to secure their maiden Thomas Cup title tomorrow, while Indonesia will bid to extend their record to 15 titles.